Yupun Abeykoon and Palitha Bandara got medals in the Commonwealth games 2022.

The medal ceremony of the events won by Yupun Abeykoon and Palitha Bandara, who won Commonwealth medals, was held last night (04).

The 2022 Commonwealth Games 100m men’s medal ceremony was presided over by Mr Adil Sumariwal, a member of the World Athletics Council.

There, the gold medal went to Ferdinand Omanyala of Kenya, while the silver medal went to defending champion South Africa’s Akani Zimbini.

Yupun Abeykoon won the bronze medal there with the distinction of winning Sri Lanka’s first Commonwealth Games medal in 24 years of athletics.

Meanwhile, the medal ceremony of the F 42-44 category para discus throwing event was also held last night (04).

Palitha Bandara of Sri Lanka won the silver medal there. This is also the first medal won by a Sri Lankan athlete in a Commonwealth Para Games.