Marsh and Warner lead Australia to victory

The Australian team won its first Twenty20 World Cup yesterday (14). The captain of the Australian team won the toss and decided to allow the New Zealand team to bat first. Batting first, New Zealand scored 172 for 4 in the allotted 20 overs.

Skipper Kane Williamson scored 85 and Martin Guptill 28 for New Zealand. Josh Hazlewood took three wickets while Adam Sampa took one wicket for Australia. Australia lost 2 wickets and scored 173 in reply in18 overs in 5 balls to win the match.

Mitchell Marsh (77) and David Warner (53) were the top scorers for Australia. Trent Bolt took 2 wickets for New Zealand. Accordingly, the 20-20 World Cup Cricket Tournament which commenced on October 16 with the participation of 16 countries including Sri Lanka ended at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium.