Mahela received an award

Mahela Jayawardene has been named in the ICC Hall of Fame’s list of the greatest cricketers in Sri Lanka.

In addition to Mahela Jayawardene, former South African Sean Pollock and England’s Janet Britton have also been inducted into the Hall of Fame.

The nomination has been made by the International Cricket Council since 2009. Veteran cricketer Muttiah Muralitharan has been inducted into the ICC Hall of Fame in 2016 and Kumar Sangakkara in 2021.

 Accordingly, Mahela Jayawardena becomes the third Sri Lankan to be included in the list.