Political Crisis in Sri Lanka-35-40 state ministers are took oath today without specifying a scope

The President’s Office says that although the Ministers of State are scheduled to take oath today (8th), their scopes were not gazetted before.

So, Only one Secretary is to be appointed for Government Ministries whose scope is not gazetted.

The former ministers of Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna had suggested that the scopes should be gazetted and the ministers of state should be sworn in under a separate budget. But President Ranil Wickremesinghe has rejected the proposal.

A special discussion was held between President Ranil Wickremesinghe and Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna leader former President Mahinda Rajapaksa yesterday (7th) morning regarding the swearing in of state ministers. Former state ministers Sanath Nishantha Perera and Lohan Ratwatte were also present on this occasion.