Port City calls for a referendum

The Chief Justice has decided to consider the special petitions filed against the Colombo Port Economic Zones Special Commission Bill before a five-judge bench on the 19th April.

Accordingly, the petitions will be produced before five-judge bench headed by Chief Justice Jayantha Jayasuriya comprising Buwaneka Aluvihare, Priyantha Jayawardena, Murdu Fernando and Janak de Silva.

The petitions were filed by UNP President Vajira Abeywardena, General Secretary Palitha Range Bandara, JVP Politburo Member Wasantha Samarasinghe, IT Professionals Association President G Kamal Renuka Perera, Center for Policy Alternatives and its Executive Director Pakyasothy Saravanamuttu.

The petition is challenging the Government’s proposed Port City Economic Commission bill.

if it is to become law the bill must be passed by a two-thirds majority in Parliament and by a referendum the petitioners ask the Supreme Court in their petitions.