Tamil diaspora groups banned

Tamil diaspora groups banned

The Government has banned a number of Tamil diaspora groups. The gazette notice issued to ban the organizations and it has been signed by Defence Secretary Kamal Gunaratne.

All the banning processes done under the under Regulation 4(7) of the United Nations Regulations No. 1 of 2012. Some of them gwere banned in 2014 but again were de-listed by the Government in 2015 by the existed government

Most of the de listed groupes considered as they have moderated their views and they have an intention to attempt to seek their support to development of the North by the former existed government.

But, the present government administration considers these groups as still being linked to terrorism and a threat to national security of the sri lanka.

Government has banned groups based in UK, Germany, Italy, Malaysia and several other countries.

The banned organisations are;

The Global Tamil Forum (GTF)
British Tamil Forum (BTF)
Canadian Tamil Congress (CTC)
Australian Tamil Congress (ATC)
National Council of Canadian Tamil
Tamil Youth Organisation
The World Tamil Coordinating Committee